May 27, 2023  
DMACC Policies and Procedures 
DMACC Policies and Procedures
Add to Portfolio (opens a new window)

BD203 - Board Membership


Section: Board of Directors

The Board of Directors shall be composed of nine (9) members, one (1) from each director district. Members shall reside in the respective districts from which they are elected. Membership terms shall be four (4) years.

Members shall hold office until a successor is elected and qualified unless a member resigns, is removed, or suspended, or an event causing a vacancy occurs. Board vacancies, as defined by Iowa Code 277.29, shall be filled at the next regular Board meeting, appointed by the remaining members. The appointed member shall serve until an election is held in accordance with the law to fill the vacancy for the remainder of the term. Successors shall be chosen at the biennial school election for members whose terms expire.

Members shall qualify by taking the oath of office prescribed in Iowa Code 277.28.

Legal Reference:
Iowa Code 39.24

Iowa Code 69.12

Iowa Code 260C.11, .15

Iowa Code 277.28 , .30

Iowa Code 279.6

Adopted: January 17, 1984
Reviewed: 2005, 2010, 2011, 2019, 2023

January 10, 2000

October 10, 2011

Add to Portfolio (opens a new window)